Inequalities in Parenting Support for Fathers of Young Children in Sweden: ISSOP Conference Presentation 2014

The International Society for Social Pediatrics and Child Health (ISSOP) Conference 2014 was held in Gothenburg, Sweden at the Nordic School for Public Health.

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 6.14.39 PM

 

While at the conference, I had one oral and one poster presentation.

The oral presentation was entitled “Inequalities in Parenting Support for Fathers of Young Children in Sweden: Looking at Child Health Centers and Parent Support Programs.

Take-home message:

Sweden prides itself on gender equality and fathers have been show to be beneficial to child development. However, the Swedish child health centers and parents support programs create barriers to father entry.

If fathers are to be involved, then we must encourage them to come; and definitely not use the same tactics with fathers as we do with mothers, as they have different needs.

To see the presentation, please click on the attached powerpoint.

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-09 at 10.50.35 AM

There were about 60-70 people who listened to my talk, which felt great to have such an audience. But even better, after this talk, five different people approached me to congratulate my work, share their experiences, and to network. And two more expressed their interest via email after the conference.

One man came up to shake my hand, and then stepped away. I started speaking with others who had questions for me, but noticed that he started talking to my supervisor, Anna Sarkadi.

When I finally caught up with my group (having missed lunch thanks to all of the wonderful and interested audience members), I heard what the man talked to Anna about.

“We would like Michael to come give his presentation to all of the nurses in Umeå this fall,” he said.

“But he doesn’t speak Swedish. Do you think that’ll be a problem for the nurses,” Anna replied.

“I don’t care if it’s a slight problem,” he said. “This is information they need to hear.”

Nothing makes a researcher feel better than when others say that their work is  important 🙂

And so I will present at the Barnhälsovårdens nationella konferens (National Child Health Conference) in October 2014.

Screen Shot 2014-07-09 at 11.53.53 AM

I also had a poster presentation. This received much less attention, as posters normally do. I had printed handouts for both my oral and my poster sessions. After 2.5 days at the conference, only 3 poster handouts had been taken.

So when I went to give my oral presentation, I figured I’d lay them out, along with the oral presentation handouts. After my oral presentation, all handouts were gone!

My poster was called “A Qualitative Study on Parental Participation and their Perceptions of the Triple P Curriculum.”

Click on the poster below:

Screen Shot 2014-07-09 at 11.22.38 AM

 

ISSOP is a wonderful conference if you’re in the field of social pediatrics and child health.

Click here to read about my Social Pediatrics colleagues’ presentations, click here to read about how we brought our research to the streets of Gothenburg, click here to read about the ISSOP conference overall, and click here to see the pictures of sites I saw in Gothenburg.

5 thoughts on “Inequalities in Parenting Support for Fathers of Young Children in Sweden: ISSOP Conference Presentation 2014”

Leave a Reply

