PhD Defense: The Party

A couple of hours after my PhD Defense, I was famous.

IMG_2327

My PhD dissertation could now be found on academic bookshelves everywhere (Swedish university libraries are found).

IMG_2309

Going to my PhD party felt like I had made it through a marriage ceremony, and now got to finally enjoy myself; except for the fact that I’m too exhausted to fully enjoy myself.

Booze are needed. Lots and lots of booze.

It doesn’t hurt to add in loads of friends, colleagues, supervisors, and family to cheer you on.

P1040921

Speeches start with the big hitters–the supervisors….and my partner.

P1040834
Anna toasting me with a silver spoon (with an “A” engraved on it)
P1040850
Raziye sharing wisdom and giving me books of knowledge.
P1040928
Sarah sharing our research story
IMG_2331
Sarah giving me Buckeyes; which works on so many levels!
P1040819
Lisa emotionally sharing our story as I traversed through my PhD.

Food is ever important for lifting your spirits.

P1040821P1040823P1040825

And if that doesn’t work, then you should start singing.

P1040898

P1040908
A song created by the Wellander Family!

Flowers (and gifts) aren’t bad either; they always brighten your day!

P1040931P1040865

To really wake everyone up, my colleagues put on quite a show, highlighting my journey of learning and blending in with Swedish culture and Swedish research.

P1040855
Once their speech was complete, I received their gifts.

IMG_2350
Some fancy bicycle cuff-links.

 

P1040858
And a seemingly ordinary blue coffee mug…that meant substantially more to me than any other present. 

Which was promptly followed up by the comical conspirators The Wellanders! Led by Linus and Fredrik, they proceeded to barrage and embarrass me with typical high school hijinks that I of course didn’t get to participate in when I was 18, and therefore, I get to now relive those moments, in order to feel truly like a graduating Swede….complete with embarrassing baby photos.

P1040817
Fredrik and Louise preparing my embarrassment.
P1040885
The comical stylings of Linus & Fredrik!
P1040893
Having the whole Wellander Family celebrate me!

I know some truly gifted, loving, and inspiration people!

P1040929
Me enjoying the evening (complete with a Swedish/American pin).

Thank you for a wonderful journey!

Now time to sleep.

 

 

One thought on “PhD Defense: The Party”

Leave a Reply

