Society for Research on Child Development 2015: My Poster Presentation on Head Start Preschool Teacher Retention and Teacher Turnover

The Society for Research on Child Development 2015 Conference took place in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

While the conference and its accommodations were quite ritzy:

IMG_1116
Part of my hotel room; A hotel recommended by the conference organizers.

The rest of Philadelphia seemed to be in need of a face lift.

IMG_1031
Man warms himself on the bitterly cold streets of Philadelphia.

Even still, the conference goes on.

I had the fortune of having my submission accepted as a poster. I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t get to have an oral presentation. In oral presentations you have a chance to meet more researchers; plus, I felt like I could tell a good story about my research.

But you have to make the best of things, and I was able to have several one-on-one conversations with other researchers.

IMG_0959

At SRCD, I had the opportunity to discuss the findings from my research on why Head Start preschool teachers quit or stay teaching. I developed a questionnaire that I gave to newly hired Head Start preschool teachers at the beginning of the school year, and then halfway through the school year, used those results to predict who stayed and who quit teaching.

Five factors differed between those who stayed and those who quit teaching. Additionally, the more risk factors an individual have (the highest possible being 5), the more likely they were to quit.

Practitioners can use this information to make needed changes in order to decrease their turnover rates.

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 2.33.58 PM

These findings were later accepted as an article in Early Childhood Research Quarterly (the best early childhood education journal, and the 11th best education journal, according to their impact factor)!

Leave a Reply

